AAUW Bennington Branch Minutes of the Annual Membership Meeting

June 17, 2023 at Old First Barn, Bennington, VT

Present: Approximately 30 members

Call to Order and Approval of Minutes

President Kathy Wagenknecht called the meeting to order at 12:20 p.m. Secretary Julie Mackaman summarized the minutes from the June 4, 2022 membership meeting, which are posted on the Bennington AAUW website. Judy Murphy moved, Wendy Lyons seconded that the minutes be approved; motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Jan Day reported that checking account balance as of May 31 is \$7,371, of which \$5,200 is restricted for scholarships, including \$2,115 held in scholarships reserve. In 2022-23, we awarded scholarships totaling \$4,400 in two rounds, \$1,850 in Fall 2022 and \$2,550 in Spring 2023. Scholarship funds included from Silent Angels (\$1,975), *Scratchings* sales (\$300), our Fall 2022 Oldcastle Theatre fundraiser (\$550) and Spring 2023 social tea (\$425).

Board Election

Wagenknecht explained that we have three elected officer positions, each of which is for a two-year term with a limit of two terms. Only two are now open for election: president (Wagenknecht) and secretary (Mackaman), with treasurer (Day) continuing into the final year of her second term. Wagenknecht asked for a voice vote to accept the Nominating Committee's slate of Suzanne Kirkpatrick for president and Fronia Simpson for treasurer; vote carried by acclamation.

On behalf of the Nominating Committee (Kirkpatrick, Mackaman, Rodrigues, Wagenknecht), Mackaman presented the list of the unelected officers who will serve on the board by virtue of their leadership roles in branch activities. New board members and board members in new positions include Berta Winiker (Programs), Althea Church and Carolyn Webb (Hospitality), Wendy Lyons (Scholarships), Julie Haupt (Diversity Officer), Kathy Wagenknecht (Communications) and Jennifer Kern (Corresponding Secretary). Continuing board members include Norma McShane (Membership), Dawn Rodrigues (Newsletter), Mary Feidner and Madeline Kennedy (Scholarship Funding Initiatives) and Judy Murphy (Media Liaison).

Recognitions

In honor of their outstanding commitment to the branch, three members where presented with tokens of appreciation: **Jennifer Kern** (by Wendy Lyons) for her role in founding and chairing the Scholarship Committee; **Gudrun Hutchins** (by Dawn Rodrigues), who as our branch historian draws upon her years of experience in multiple board positions and her leadership in education projects and the development of policy positions; and **Kathy Wagenknecht** (by Suzanne Kirkpatrick) for shepherding our branch through the recent milestones of the Suffrage Centennial and the Covid pandemic.

Adjournment

Murphy moved, Mullineaux seconded that the meeting be adjourned; motion carried, meeting adjourned at 12:50 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Julie Mackaman Secretary, ret.